Camera launch monitor · Ceiling, in front of the ball

TruGolf APOGEE

TruGolf · indoor only · spin measured

The short answer

The TruGolf APOGEE is a camera-based (photometric) launch monitor that sits on the ceiling, in front of the hitting position. It measures spin directly. It mounts overhead, so the ceiling matters: the seller states 9 ft; allow about 13.5–15.5 ft of depth for a screen setup. Listed at $7,995 from Rain or Shine Golf.

Tracking
Camera
Placement
Ceiling, in front of the ball
Stated ceiling
9 ft
Spin
Measured
Price seen
$7,995

Good fit if

  • Your room is short — no ball-flight distance is needed behind the unit
  • You want nothing on the floor and left- and right-handed golfers to hit without moving it
  • Measured spin matters to you (wedges, shot shaping, fitting)

Look elsewhere if

  • You want to take it to the driving range — it is indoor-only
  • You rent, or cannot fix a heavy unit to the ceiling structure
  • You don't want to run a Windows gaming PC
  • You don't want to use marked balls or stickers
$7,995Rain or Shine Golf listed price (configurations to $8,995) · seen 30 Sep 2026

Every link opens the product page for this exact model. We may earn a commission; it never changes what we publish. Disclosure

Room size: will the TruGolf APOGEE fit?

The TruGolf APOGEE sits on the ceiling, in front of the hitting position. Overhead units read the ball from above, so the floor stays clear; the ceiling height and the mounting distance from the tee are the critical figures.

DimensionWhat to plan forHow it's worked out
Depth, screen to back wall13.5 ft minimum · 15.5 ft comfortable1 ft screen gap + 8–10 ft ball to screen + 4.5 ft behind the ball for the backswing
Width, right-handed only10 ft minimum · 12 ft comfortableSwing arc on both sides of the golfer
Width, left- and right-handed12 ft minimumCentered hitting area so either stance fits
Ceiling at the unit9 ftSeller-stated mounting height

Ceiling height for a full driver swing

Golfer heightEstimated ceiling neededWorking
5′6″8′ 10″66 in + 45.5 in × sin 45° + 1.5 in mat + 6 in margin
5′10″9′ 2″70 in + 45.5 in × sin 45° + 1.5 in mat + 6 in margin
6′2″9′ 6″74 in + 45.5 in × sin 45° + 1.5 in mat + 6 in margin
6′5″9′ 9″77 in + 45.5 in × sin 45° + 1.5 in mat + 6 in margin
FOREference calculationEstimated ceiling = golfer height + driver length × sin 45° + mat height + a safety margin. Steep, upright swings need more; test with a practice swing before you buy. Run your own numbers.

What it measures, and how

The listing shows 7 ball parameters and 4 club parameters. Spin is read directly from the ball, which matters most for wedges and curved shots.

GroupParameters listed by the seller
Ball data (7)Carry distance, Total distance, Ball speed, Launch angle, Back spin, Side spin, Shot direction
Club data (4)Clubhead speed, Smash factor, Club face angle, Club path
  • Ball marking: Not required
  • Club marking: Not required

Software, subscriptions and five-year cost

Software listed: E6 Connect (27-course lifetime licence plus one year Expanded). Third-party simulator platforms named: E6 Connect.

Cost itemAmount
Hardware (listed price)$7,995
SubscriptionNot stated in the listing — check before buying
Third-party software (if used)Priced separately by GSPro, E6, TGC or Awesome Golf
FOREference calculationFive-year total = listed hardware price + 5 × the listed annual plan. Excludes tax, a PC, the screen and enclosure. Build your full five-year budget.
Practical noteStated PC requirement: E6 Connect minimum: Intel i5, 8 GB RAM, NVIDIA GTX 1070. See simulator PCs.

Building a simulator around it

Overhead units read from above, so left- and right-handed golfers can hit without moving the unit (confirm the hitting zone covers both stances).

What else a full simulator needs

Packages built around the TruGolf APOGEE

11 specialist-retailer packages in our catalog include this launch monitor, from $10,900 to $13,869.

See all 11 TruGolf APOGEE packages.

How it compares

ModelTrackingPlacementSpinRoom depthPrice seen
TruGolf APOGEECameraCeiling, in front of the ballMeasured13.5–15.5 ft$7,995
ProTee VXCameraCeiling, in front of the ballMeasured16–16 ft$6,500
Uneekor EYE XOCameraCeiling, in front of the ballMeasured13.5–15.5 ft$6,499
Ernest Sports ES Eagle SimCameraCeiling, in front of the ballMeasured13.5–15.5 ft$5,000

Room depth uses the same FOREference method for every model, so the column is comparable; prices are the lowest listed by the lead seller on the date shown.

Fit check: TruGolf APOGEE

Worked out from the seller's published figures and our stated room method. Confirm against your space.

✓ Required? Check firsti Good to know
  • ✓Room depth13.5 ft minimum, 15.5 ft comfortable (1 ft screen gap + 8–10 ft ball to screen + 4.5 ft behind the ball for the backswing).
  • ✓Ceiling & mountingSeller states 9 ft. Fix to structure, not drywall; confirm the mounting distance from the tee.
  • ✓Display devicePC
  • ?Balls & markersNot required; club: Not required
  • iSimulator softwareE6 Connect named in the listing.
  • iLeft-handed golfersOverhead units read from above, so left- and right-handed golfers can hit without moving the unit (confirm the hitting zone covers both stances).

Specifications

Each figure is labelled with where it comes from. Numbered references link to the source list below.

Manufacturer storeRetailer listingFOREference calculationNot verified

Published specifications

Tracking technologyHigh-speed cameras with infrared sensors[S1]Retailer listing
PlacementCeiling-mounted in front of the ball[S1]Retailer listing
Indoor / outdoorIndoor only[S1]Retailer listing
Stated ceiling height9 ft[S1]Retailer listing
Ball markingNot required[S1]Retailer listing
Club markingNot required[S1]Retailer listing
SpinMeasured directly[S1]Retailer listing
Shot delayInstant[S1]Retailer listing
DisplayPC[S1]Retailer listing
SoftwareE6 Connect (27-course lifetime licence plus one year Expanded)[S1]Retailer listing
Dimensions38.25 × 7.5 × 5.5 in[S1]Retailer listing
Weight22 lb[S1]Retailer listing
Warranty18-month[S1]Retailer listing
PC requirementE6 Connect minimum: Intel i5, 8 GB RAM, NVIDIA GTX 1070[S1]Retailer listing
Ball data listedCarry distance, Total distance, Ball speed, Launch angle, Back spin, Side spin, Shot direction[S1]Retailer listing
Club data listedClubhead speed, Smash factor, Club face angle, Club path[S1]Retailer listing

FOREference calculations

Room depth (FOREference method)13.5 ft minimum · 15.5 ft comfortableFOREference calculation
Ceiling for a 5′10″ golfer (driver)9′ 2″FOREference calculation

Limitations to weigh

  • Indoor use only.
  • Needs a Windows PC for simulation.

Alternatives worth comparing

Where to buy

5 specialist sellers list this exact product. Prices were observed on 30 Sep 2026; confirm the current price, stock and included items before ordering.

SellerListed priceType
Rain or Shine Golf$7,995–$8,995Specialist retailer
PlayBetter$7,995Specialist retailer
Shop Indoor Golf$7,995Specialist retailer
Golf Bays$7,995Specialist retailer
Golf Simulators Direct$7,995Specialist retailer
$7,995Rain or Shine Golf listed price (configurations to $8,995) · seen 30 Sep 2026

Every link opens the product page for this exact model. We may earn a commission; it never changes what we publish. Disclosure

Questions buyers ask

Does the TruGolf APOGEE work with GSPro?
GSPro is not named in the listing we used. Check with the seller before relying on it.
How much room does the TruGolf APOGEE need?
Using the FOREference method, about 13.5 ft of depth at minimum and 15.5 ft to be comfortable, 10 ft of width for right-handed play (12 ft if left- and right-handed golfers share it), and roughly 9′ 2″ of ceiling for a 5′10″ golfer swinging a driver.
Does the TruGolf APOGEE need a subscription?
The listing does not state a subscription. Confirm what is included before you buy.
Does the TruGolf APOGEE measure spin?
Yes — the listing states spin is measured directly.
Can left-handed golfers use the TruGolf APOGEE?
Overhead units read from above, so left- and right-handed golfers can hit without moving the unit (confirm the hitting zone covers both stances).
Can the TruGolf APOGEE be used outdoors?
No — it is listed for indoor use only.

Sources and verification

  1. Rain or Shine Golf — TruGolf APOGEE — product page and specifications Retrieved 30 Sep 2026
  2. PlayBetter — TruGolf APOGEE Golf Launch Monitor — product page Retrieved 30 Sep 2026
  3. Shop Indoor Golf — TruGolf APOGEE Launch Monitor — product page Retrieved 30 Sep 2026
  4. Golf Bays — APOGEE Launch Monitor — product page Retrieved 30 Sep 2026
  5. Golf Simulators Direct — TruGolf Apogee Launch Monitor — product page Retrieved 30 Sep 2026

FOREference has not tested this product hands-on. This reference is compiled from the sources above; our calculations are labelled and show their working. Last verified 30 Sep 2026. How we work